seth929
I'm new to the gravel world. I'm preparing for Dirty Kanza 200 in 4 months. I am building up my gravel bike and have a Mavic All Road Pro 700c wheelset and a Stans Valor Pro 650b wheelset, both will be setup tubeless.

What are people's thoughts on the Pros and Cons of 700c vs 650b for DK200?

It seems that 38-42mm tires are the sweetspot and that sidewall durability is a priority specifically when dealing with the flint rock on the DK200 course. I was thinking of bringing both wheelsets and have the 700s set up for a "standard day" and the 650b set for a rainy/muddy day. Is this a reasonable approach?

What are recommended tire choices for racing DK200 on 700c wheels and also 650b wheels?

Thanks for your help!!
Quote 0 0
Koyote
I've not ridden DK, but am pretty pleased with the Terrene Elwood 700cx40 Tough tires. On my 20mm ID rims, they are about 42mm wide, and have proved durable so far.

Those tires also come in a Light version with less sidewall and puncture protection, but I wouldn't run 'em on the DK route. 
Quote 0 0
CrankShaft
I rode a single set of Donnelly MSO 700x40 tubeless last year at DK200, Almonzo and Heck of the North, plus lots of training. No flats or issues. Them seemed tough enough and fast enough. 

I’m doing the DK200 again this year and trying to decide on a new set of Donnelly MSO, or move to Panaracer Gravel King SK 700x38. They both seem to offer protection and performance.

I saw a lot of Schwalbe G Ones last year, but I have no experience. 
Quote 0 0
DerekJ_MI
Many good choices out there.  Much will depend on the road conditions.  Last year was dry and I used 45 Riddlers and I finished just fine.
Quote 0 0
Wheelsmcgee
DerekJ_MI wrote:
Many good choices out there.  Much will depend on the road conditions.  Last year was dry and I used 45 Riddlers and I finished just fine.