jmolnar
Hi I am completely new to gravel racing.  I got a sweet deal on a Trek Boone Disc frame and would like to run my old 29er wheel set. ()  http://www.bontrager.com/model/11445 Bontrager XXX Race Lite TLR...Width: 24mm outer, 21 mm inner

Is it advisable to run this wheel set tubeless for gravel racing?
-If so, what tires would anyone recommend?  Trek says the max tire width on the Boone is 38c.

-If no, what wheel set is best for gravel racing?
I can't make sense of all the possible tire sizes and configurations, let alone a tubeless setup on a 29er wheel set. 
I'll be racing the Dairy Roubaix and Almonzo to start the season.

Thanks,
Josh
Quote 0 0
tinman
Hi Josh,

You may want to post this topic under the Gravel "racing" specific forum also.

In the mean time,  I have researched this a lot over the last few years so, to save you a little "google time" until experienced "racers" reply here is what I have leaned as a gravel "rider" - tourer.

* The majority racers/riders - run psi in the 40's range.
* Depending on your weight many clincher/tube, 40mm tires can run in the 40's psi, on smooth'ish gravel with out pinch flats.  If your under 175 lbs you may be able to with 38's.  I am 175-180 and have run 38 file treads in the 40's psi.  
* The point is - if you can run addaquite psi with clincher & tubes why go tubeless?  And there is the 6 to one half dozen the other, no right answer that is soon typical with gravel.
* Flint - some say - it's gonna happen so why mess with the additional goo in a tubeless to just put a tube in