blutow
I've been holding out buying a "real" gravel bike for a few years.  Been riding/racing gravel mostly on my Spark RC MTB with 45's and every once and a while on my Trek Madone with 28's when I feel like rolling the dice with flats.    

I'm looking for a fast bike for racing near the pointy end.  While I also enjoy "non-race" social gravel rides and mixed surface stuff, I can always use my MTB for cruising around and I want this new bike to be optimized for racing.  Most of my racing is around TX and our gravel is pretty tame. 

I've been riding a Madone road bike for years and really like the isospeed system for smoothing out rough roads and gravel.  So, one of the first bikes I looked at was the checkpoint SL7 with the rear isospeed.  Then, I saw that the Domane SL7 has very similar geometry, has isospeed in front and back, and has a few other features I like (2x rather than 1x shifting, threaded BB, aero frame, storage in frame).  The only downside I see with the Domane on paper is the 38mm tire clearance (and I've read that they take 40+ no problem).  While I like the idea of having flexibility of running larger tires, I think I'd rather save a few watts with the more aero domane frame if that's the trade off.  I also really hate the BB90 press fit BB on the checkpoint, so the threaded BB on the Domane is a big plus.

I'm a little torn on this because I was all ready to pick out a gravel bike and the bike I'm leaning toward isn't really designed to be a gravel bike.  Unfortunately, I don't have the opportunity to do any serious test rides to compare actual performance.  Is there something important I'm missing (besides tire clearance) that the Checkpoint (or another "gravel" bike) would give me over the Domane as a gravel race bike?  
Quote 0 0
ljsmith
I don’t know if you go to mtbr, but there is a guy using one as a gravel bike.  You could message him and he could probably give you a lot of info.