E-man
Hello Everyone, 

This may not be the best place for this topic but lets try anyway...

I am new to the sport (only about a year in) and have done mostly road riding and racing (but I do have a gravel bike on order so I am excited to try this scene out!). I'm 36 years old, Cat 5 and have a long distance running background from college. I like riding because its similar yet much easier on the joints.

However, I was involved in a crash that was not my fault and the person in front of me had to go to the hospital. I don't know what happened but some how even though we both fell at the same speed he was bleeding from the head and incoherent while I was bruised but fine. I stayed with him holding his had until the ambulance arrived. 

This got me thinking, it doesn't look like it from the outside but this sport is/can be super sketchy at times....

I guess I am just looking for some feedback on this topic. My intention is to keep cycling of course and keep pushing myself to get better, faster, stronger but does that mean I am assuming more and more risk as my fitness and skills increase? 

Just looking for feedback.

Thanks, 
Quote 0 0
chas

Wow.  That is pretty deep.  Not sure the circumstances of the crash, so I can’t comment on that.  But, certainly riding within your ability, and being very aware of your surroundings is important. 

I do all kinds of riding, and gravel is probably the safest – although I do get my share of scrapes (its just how I roll).  But it doesn’t have the obstacles and crash potential of mountain biking, nor does it have the speed or traffic of road riding (unless you are bombing downhill on gravel).