PastorJoe
To say I'm new to gravel riding may be quite the understatement.  I've actually only done a couple of short rides, but it is a growing interest/obsession  with me.  I currently have two bikes...a hard tail mountain bike and a road bike.  A new bike is definitely not in the budget...but have decided that can't stop me.  Looking to used gravel riding like I use mountain biking...to break up the routine of my road rides and offer me a different experience/work out.  

My current options are pretty basic...new wheel set, larger tires, and perhaps larger cassette on my road bike (which has a double, compact chainring. Or, perhaps new tires on my mountain bike (triple chainring), which does have front suspension.

At this point I may be over thinking things and just need to ride...but what is y'alls experience as to which would be a better set up and fit for getting started?  I appreciate any helpful thoughts/comments.

- Pastor Joe
Quote 0 0
ljsmith
The road bike will be much more efficient than the mountain bike, but it really depends on how big a tire your road bike will take.  I would not recommend riding gravel on anything smaller than a 32c.  I once did a 60 miler on 28s, and I really regretted it.  At the time I thought 60 miles was short enough that I would prefer the speed of the 28s, I was wrong.
Quote 0 0
Craig/Fl
I was in the same boat, 2 bikes and a third out of the question at this point. I went with the hardtail MTB, couldn't fit anything larger than 28mm tires on the road bike. I got rid of the front suspension and put on a rigid cromoly fork. I will be putting drop bars on this weekend. Next will be different tires than the 2.1 knobby's I have on there now. maybe go single speed at some point. It's a real work in progress and I just make changes as I save up for parts, the nice thing about you can keep riding between upgrades.
Quote 0 0
fatguyfatbike
Surly ECR 3.0 inch knards! Wouldn't trade it for the world.
Quote 0 0
Enoch