brendanhousler

We've noticed a bunch of athletes commenting on the need for more upper body strength now that they've started racing gravel.

Our strength coach wrote a quick blog on the basics of strength training, as many of us aren't used to being in the gym.

As an athlete that was in the gym years ago, left, and am now back for life, I'd love to hear what the more seasoned riders are doing.  I've found 5 x 5 heavy strength workouts to be really helpful.

Thanks for your input!

https://www.evoq.bike/blog/2019/4/25/basics-of-lifting-for-the-all-around-athlete

Quote 0 0
Toadmeister
I’m a former weightlifter who took up biking, LOL.   I was a big guy.   I’ve been trying to slim down over the years cuz most that muscle mass has been a hindrance to biking for me (and to be honest so is my beer belly).   

That said, stronger is stronger and helps all around.  I’m no training expert however, so see a trainer if one is available.
Quote 1 0
mikeybikey
I highly recommend the book, Maxim Overload. It is a book specifically addressing weight training for cyclists. It has helped me immensely. 
Quote 2 0
brendanhousler

mikeybikey wrote:
I highly recommend the book, Maxim Overload. It is a book specifically addressing weight training for cyclists. It has helped me immensely. 
awesome thanks for the recommendation!

Brendan - http://www.evoq.bike

Quote 0 0
Koyote
We have long nasty winters around here, and I can only stand so much trainer riding - so I do spend time in a weight room from around November through March or so. Since you don't want to work the same muscle groups too much (esp not on sequential days), I rotate between working my legs, core, and upper body. The upper body is not essential to cycling fitness (even gravel riding, IMO), but it does help me to avoid that twiggy-armed cyclist look. 
Quote 0 0
Volsung
I always say that speed = strength applied quickly, so everyone who rides should lift.