nadair
Forum,

I'm new to gravel bikes and I could use help choosing between these two.  My price-point is $900-$1100 and I've been looking online and at LBS near me.

Two questions...

1) I'm just shy of 5'9" tall.  Performance Bike told me I'd be best in a 51cm but another Trek dealer told me I'd be best in a 56cm.  From what I can gather, 51cm would kill my back and 56cm would be too much.  What do you recommend?

2) I'm trying to choose between a GT Grade Alloy 105 and the Fuji Tread 1.0 LE Disc.  After reviewing specs, GT seems to be the better of the two due to the mechanically-actuated hydraulic breaks where the Fuji just has traditional mechanically-actuated disc brakes.  The GT is $999 and the Fuji is $1099 at my LBS.  What do you recommend?

I live in a Chicago suburb next to the prairie path -- a gravel path that extends quite far.  I used to do 20 miles or so on the weekends with my old steel-frame Fuji and I'd love to get back into mileage-biking for my daily exercise.  I'd also like to use the bike to tow my kids along on the weekends in a bike trailer (I have a 1 and 4-year-old).  I'm not really a fan of flat-bar bikes unless I'm mountain-biking (which I love as well).

I'm looking to buy this weekend.  Oh, and if anyone has heard of Priority Bikes or Brilliant Bikes -- my wife wants a Townie but my gut is telling me to look at something higher-quality for her.  Priority and Brilliant seem to be two good companies for comfort bikes.

Thanks!
Noah
Quote 0 0
rocthrower
For what it's worth, I'm just under 5'10" and rode a 56 Alloy 105 Grade until a recent accident.  I always felt it was a little big for me, and if I could do it again, I'd go with a 55.  It's hard to to recommend size over the internet, but for you I'd guess a 51 would be to small and you could probably make a 55 or 53 work.  Did the Trek store size you as a 56 for a a Trek bike?  I used to ride a 56cm Madone, and that felt smaller than the Grade in a 56 did.