smoothmoose
I'm pretty new to gravel coming from MTB.  I haven't had any issues setting up big balloon MTB tires (2.2-2.6") tubeless, but smaller gravel tires just seem to be more difficult as there's less the grab onto.

I'm trying to setup tubeless for my Gravelking slicks 700x38c onto my WTB i23 alloy rims.  It could be the rim/tire combo as I needed to use tire levers just to get the tire on the rim.  Now the tire is sitting in the deeper center channel, and I can't pull either side's bead up into hook/side of the rim to secure it.  Any air I try to blast through just escapes through the gaps in the center channel.

I plan to put the wheel/tires in the sun for awhile later this afternoon to soften it up, but any other tips?  
Quote 0 0
HollyBoni
The tyre being tight is not a bad thing, actually a pretty good thing. I wouldn't bother with trying to pull up the beads from the center. Compressor, valve core out, soapy water on the bead. I've had a little trouble setting up one of my 32mm GK SKs. Like in your case, even with a valve core out all the air was coming out and the tyre didn't want to move. I was trying to pull the bead out but just gave up. A bit of soapy water solved the issue. After spraying the soapy water, the beads popped into their place instantly.
Quote 0 0
spectastic
I've found it helpful to make sure the tire is adequately covering the valve stem and that there's no major holes there, where air could escape. I've had decent success getting the tires to bead without a compressor so far.
as of 3/24/19, I vow to not argue with idiots on the internet
Quote 0 0
shelbym
You may have resolved this by now but.... I've had success mounting the tire initially with a tube. Deflate and then break loose the bead on only one side to remove the tube and install the tubeless valve.  I've been able to mount GKSK 43s with a regular floor pump.
Quote 1 0
NoCoGreg