redline814
I decided I wanted to build a gravel bike from scratch. This is something I have never done before and am winging it as I go. I found a no name Reynolds 853 steel tube frame on CL that looked like a good base to build on. The fork is 1", BB is threaded and the rear is 130-ish.

I'm shooting or all components to be in the mid price range. Nothing chepo and nothing top of the line. Used or new. I'm not sure if it is wise to use more MTB components than road since I will be in the gravel/dirt. I want a single up front and 9 or 10 gears out back. I'm leaning more towards a road drop bar that has flat spots (to rt/left of stem) to place your hands on long trips. The brakes will be TRP CX9 Mini's.

For the moment I need feedback on cranks...
Prefer to be black. Maybe a Shimano 105 or is there a CX specific crank option?

I attached a pic for reference of my starting point...

[photo+1]

Quote 0 0
Seth
I'm undertaking the same thing at the moment.

I have a mix of components that I am using, Ultegra 6600 brifters, 105 long cage rear derailleur, Ultegra front derailleur, sora crank, ultegra brakes.

Going with standard road bars for the moment, mainly because that's what i have and what i am used to.

Putting it on an old frame i had lying around but this will be a temporary measure. there just isn't enough clearance for some fatter tyres as I'd have to max out at 25mm schwalbe marathons.

Looking around at frames, thinking along the lines of the Soma Saga or Surly LHT or anything else in that sort of frame type. If I find something, I'll switch the brakes over to cantilevers as well. I'd love to have all the frame options that you guys have over there in the US.
Quote 0 0
redline814
It sounds like you are off to a solid start. Having a garage of old parts makes you 1/2 way there. Find a solid frame selection and tack on a mash of parts until it rides how you want it to [smile] 

Update:
- Picked up some cheap FSA RD-400 wheels with 700x32 rubber.