Alex_C
I'm new to cl discs. I installed a set and noticed they have a a little fore & aft play, maybe a millimeter? They work well but I noticed a little rattle when I ride. Is this normal?
Quote 0 0
dangle
Not at all. They should get as much torque as a cassette or most cranksets when installing.
Quote 0 0
Rocking
What Dangle said.  40 n-m of torque (29 to 30 ft-lb).  Be sure that thin metal washer is installed under the locking ring.  
Quote 0 0
dangle
Rocking wrote:
Be sure that thin metal washer is installed under the locking ring.  

Not all lockrings have that washer. DT Swiss lockrings do not. I don't think that washer is even possible to remove from lockrings anyhow.
Quote 0 0
Alex_C
Thanks for the replies. The ring is tight. I did not receive a washer, but all my parts were sourced from ebay. I did receive an extra set of lock rings. I'll check to see if they have an attached wave washer.
Quote 0 0
Alex_C
OK, the rattling is not because of the lock-ring or the washer. The disc 'hub' fit is loose. The tooth engagement is not super tight, I get the same amount of play if the lock-ring is on or off. It is much less than the millimetre I stated earlier but there is still play. 
Quote 0 0
nublar
Add in a small 1mm or less spacer?
Quote 0 0
Alex_C
I'm not explaining it well. The disc is tight, meaning in a top down view there is not any play left to right. The play is in the interface of the 'teeth'. It may be a tolerance issue where the splines on the hub are on the small side while the opening on the rotor is on the large side. I'm not going to worry about it. They worked fine for over 100 miles. I appreciate all the input.
Quote 0 0
shiggy

Alex_C wrote: