Craig
I put a pair of Clement MSO 40mm tires on my Grade today and did some measuring and photographing so that everyone can make up their own minds about how wide to go. On the Grail rims and running tubeless at 35 PSI, they measure right at 40mm.

In the photos you can see the zerts sticking out from the sidewalls. Just for perspective those are average 5mm long and they rub on the chain stay and fork. Using my calipers I measured the gap between the tire and frame and fork at the narrowest part to be 3mm.

With the California drought, I plan on running these until it gets muddy. I have the 35mm USH as my backup tires when clearance becomes a problem.

Here are the photos. What do you think?
Quote 1 0
henrypretz
Wow Craig - if it were my bike I don't think I'd use that tire.  Now I am by no means an expert, but that just seems just a bit too tight for my comfort level, especially on a carbon frame.  Chances are it will be fine.  I'm pretty much a worry wart  [smile]
I had the same situation with the MSOs on my Poprad.  Pretty much identical clearances, too.
Ultimately it's your call.  Let us know how you decide.

Henry
Quote 1 0
Craig
Anyone want to buy a set of barely used 40mm MSOs?

The clearance was not enough even in mostly dry conditions. Gunk was always building up in the narrow gap and rubbing on the chainstay.

I went back to the 35mm USH and am satisfied with the traction and handling.

So now we know that the Carbon Grade cannot handle 40mm tires!

Who has tried anything else bigger than 35mm?
Quote 3 0
henrypretz

We are in the same boat, Craig.  I have exactly ZERO complaints about the performance of the Clement 700x35c USH on my alloy Grade, but I am one who always wonders "what if?".  I went through the same sort of scenario with my Poprad.  I sold my 40c MSO because they wouldn't fit.
So here we sit  [smile]