JMosey
I'm signed up for some long races this year and think I will need a backpack, which I've never used before.  I'm working on a Christmas list, thought I might add a pack.  I've heard good things about the Osprey stuff.
Quote 0 0
GHC
Well ... kind of depends what long distance means to you......so I will come at it this way......

Figure you will consume about a liter an hour if you are working hard and/or it's hot.   

So decide how many hours you need water for, and how you intend to use your bike's bottle cages, and get that sized pack.

Personally, I have a 3L pack.    Mine is called the Camelbak Lobo.   It has a 3L Crux reservoir.   

I like a 3L pack for a couple reasons.   1) You don't have to fill it if you don't want to.   The bag itself is light, so I don't feel like I am giving up anything over the smaller packs, and have the additional capacity when I need it.       2) In addition to hydration on a long >3.5 hour ride, you need nutrition, and a 3L bag has more pocket capacity for holding nutrition too.

Lastly....as I typed at the start....figure you need about a liter an hour when you are working hard or its hot.    A bike typically has two or three bottle cages anyway ...... so if I don't plan to ride over 3 hours before hitting a known water source.... the bottle cages are all I need/I don't need a backpack.      Over 3 or available water unknown, I go with the pack for the reasons I mentioned above.