Bertini
This is my first time posting.
I have just sold my two road bikes as i usually ride triathlons and have a TT bike now. But I want to try cyclocross and have a versile bike for commuting to replace my hybrid, plus the ability to swap in some aero wheels for some serious road sportive use. I am hoping to build a single bike for this purpose.
I must say I have been tempted by a few of the Chinese carbon frames. The 3T exploro copy by tidace and the carbonda.
I have seen two extensive threads on both of these frames and they seem to be very well received.
My main questions are:
1. Am I crazy to try and make an all in one jack of all trades and master of none bike? Or will these frames be sufficiently aero and suitable for 100k road rides and thrashing around in the mud?
2. Is the 3T exploro copy too wide under the forks to run 25c or 28c on an aero road wheel (will it look stupid)
3. Would the carbonda look a bit more ‘road like’ and is it aero enough?

I’m quite excited about the prospect of speccing up my own custom paint job. And I am planning on going 1x50t at the front and 11-42 rear cassette with an XT Di2 rear mech. With some aero handlebars.
Probably three sets of wheels
Commuting, cyclocross and aero road.

I would welcome any advice regarding the choice of frames? Am I missing any aero frames that are suitable for cyclocross. Maybe more aero road frames that have the necessary wheel tyre clearance but are strong enough for gravel/cyclocross.
Quote 0 0
chas
I think a lot of people (myself included) have one versatile bike.  3T is the only one I know of that is specifically Aero.   When I'm doing 100K, aero isn't that important as I'm going at an endurance pace - that is a lot slower than my hour time trial pace.

I think that bikes with clearnce for 40mm look fine with 25/28c wheels.  I saw a Warbird with that size, and it looked kinda cool.  If the frame takes 2.1 tires - might look a little funny...